Hednesford – April 10th 2011 Meeting Report

The second leg of Incarace’s traditional April weekender saw the BriSCA F1s make their sole appearance of the season at their fastest UK venue of Hednesford Hills Raceway, with a great turnout of around 50 cars for the track’s World Championship qualifier including the nine Dutch drivers who had raced at Birmingham the night before although engine problems prevented H505 Ruud Bekkers from competing. Yellow top 60 Ian Venables scored his maiden Final win in the main race.

Final winner Ian Venables 60. Photo Chris Clark

In brilliant spring sunshine 23 cars lined up for the first heat with 238 Richard Bryan leading the first lap only to spin with 390 Stuart Smith going fencewards in avoidance with 12 Michael Scriven and 253 Rob Braithwaite also involved with the latter collected by H6 Geert-Jan Keijzer. 85 Iain Holden was up front for the restart but 515 Junior Wainman was displaying his usual Hednesford form and just after half distance was down the inside of the yellow top and into the lead, going on to take his new tarmac car to a clear win over 434 Ivan Pritchard and the impressive H148 Danny Smidt.

Frankie Wainman jnr 515. Photo Colin Casserley

A similar field lined up for the second heat which saw H007 Dave Schaap the first to hit the wall before the yellow flags flew for 45 Nigel Harrhy who had gone in at turn three, Nigel escaping with a bruised shoulder.

The Neachell's 322 and 321 in Heat 2. Photo Chris Clark

484 Craig Utley had just taken the lead from 300 Paul Carter when the yellows flew and he led the restart with 322 James Neachell and 21 Mark Gilbank closed in. The latter took Utley with two to go only to be passed by 16 Matt Newson, but Gilbank launched a well-timed last bend lunge to take the win with Newson content with second ahead of Utley.

James Neachell 322 bypasses Craig Utley 484. Photo Colin Casserley

Venables shot into the lead of the 19-car Consolation as Keijzer took out 103 Richard Masterson and 321 Ed Neachell – complete with his second aerofoil of the weekend – chased in second place until Stuart Smith came through. Venables crossed the line in front as Michael Scriven took Ed Neachell late on for third, but Venables would be docked places for an over-enthusiastic start giving Stuart Smith the spoils until his car failed the post-race weight check and it was Michael Scriven who was finally awarded the win from Venables and Ed Neachell.

Race winner Michael Scriven 12. Photo Chris Clark

All 32 qualifiers came out for the Final which began with 51 Dylan Williams-Maynard sending 41 Robert Broome into the wall before a big crash at the start of lap two saw H399 Jessy de Bruin and 191 Joshua Smith slam heavily into the wall for a race stoppage with the Armco barrier considerably damaged.

Josh Smith 191 and Dan Johnson 4. Photo Colin Casserley

Fortunately the drivers escaped uninjured but a lengthy delay followed while the Incarace marshals displayed their civil engineering skills to repair the barrier. Venables led the restart and pulled away before turn one saw another big crash just after half distance when James Neachell spun and was T-boned heavily by 259 Paul Hines with Carter also crashing in.

James Neachell 322 and Paul Hines 259. Photo Colin Casserley

Final winner Ian Venables 60 alongside Paul Carter 300. Photo Colin Casserley

Wainman took Utley for second with three laps to run but this time Venables was not going to be denied and he raced to the victory, Utley third behind Wainman while 107 Lee Robinson shoved 217 Lee Fairhurst wide for fourth on the last turn.

Lee Fairhurst 217 and Louw Wobbes h22. Photo Colin Casserley

20 cars started a quieter GN with Utley taking Holden for the lead two laps in and taking off into the distance as Wainman fired Hines into the back of de Bruin. Michael Scriven was displaying his usual good Hednesford form and battled with Stuart Smith for second until the lively Wainman fired 2 Paul Harrison into the 12 car before setting off after Smith. Utley took the win but the eyes of most were on Wainman as he muscled past Smith to take second on the line.

Stu Smith jnr 390 going well in his shale car. Photo Chris Clark

An excellent meeting all round despite the enforced delays, and many supporters were asking for an increase in Hednesford fixtures next year in the days following this entertaining session.

Dave Goddard

Facebook Network:

What is this?

Latest Posts
Skegness, 14th July 2018 - Photo Gallery
Skegness, 14th July 2018 – Photo Gallery
Jul 20, 2018

Photos from Day 1 of the Skegness UK Speed Weekend

Official BriSCA F1 2018 World Semi-Final Grids
Official BriSCA F1 2018 World Semi-Final Grids
Jul 18, 2018

The BSCDA has announced the official World Semi-final grids for the 2018 BriSCA F1 World Championship

Preview: European Championship 2018
Preview: European Championship 2018
Jul 18, 2018

Scott Reeves takes a look at the drivers to look out for in the upcoming European Championship.

Belle Vue, 1st July 2018 - Meeting Report and Photos
Belle Vue, 1st July 2018 – Meeting Report and Photos
Jul 17, 2018

Stuart Smith Junior wins the 2018 British Championship at Belle Vue.

Northampton, 24th June 2018 - Meeting Report and Photos
Northampton, 24th June 2018 – Meeting Report and Photos
Jul 13, 2018

James Morris becomes the first BriSCA F1 final winner at the Northampton Shaleway

Ipswich, 23rd June 2018 - Meeting Report and Photos
Ipswich, 23rd June 2018 – Meeting Report and Photos
Jul 11, 2018

Ryan Harrison took the meeting final at the annual visit to Ipswich

Lochgelly, 17th June 2018 - Photo Gallery
Lochgelly, 17th June 2018 – Photo Gallery
Jul 4, 2018

Tom Harris takes another win in Scotland

Preview: British Championship 2018
Preview: British Championship 2018
Jun 27, 2018

With the British Championship just around the corner, we take a look at the drivers to watch.

Track Photography

Recent Archives